OFFICE USE ONLY

State of North Carolina

Department of the Secretary of State — NPE
Elaine F. Marshall, Secretary of State

Examiner
APPLICATION FOR INITIAL APPOINTMENT AS A
NORTH CAROLINA NOTARY PUBLIC Proofed
BOTH SIDES OF FORM MUST BE COMPLETE AND LEGIBLE
PLEASE PRINT IN INK OR TYPE

ASSISTANCE: The Notary Public Section is available for assistance from 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday

through Friday, with the exception of holidays. You may contact us at (919) 807-2131.

FEE: Make check or money order payable to NC Secretary of State in the amount of $50.00.

Fees are non-refundable (see N.C. Gen. Stat. § 10A-7). PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH.
MAIL APPLICATION AND FEE TO: Notary Public Section

Department of the Secretary of State

PO Box 29626

Raleigh, NC 27626-0626

. Name of applicant as you wish to be commissioned (Exact name and/or initials) (No nicknames): EX: John Edward Doe OR

John E. Doe OR
J.E. Doe OR John Doe

2. Mailing Address: City: State: Zip:

3. Residence Address (If different from mailing address): | City: State: Zip:

4. Business Phone: Home Phone: Fax: 5. Social Security Number:
( ) ( ) ( )

6. E-mail Address: 7. County of Residence:

8. Business / Employer Name: Occupation:
Business Address:
City / State / Zip Code: County:

9. | hereby certify that the above named applicant has successfully completed the notary public education

course and therefore qualifies for your consideration for a notary public commission.

(signature of instructor) (print or type name) (date)

(name of community college)

10. | hereby recommend the commissioning of the applicant to serve as a notary public.
(signature of elected official) (print or type name) (date)
(title of elected official)
11. Are you a member of the North Carolina Bar? Yes[ | No[]

(Practicing attorneys are exempt from taking the notary course; however, they are required to maintain a current notary guidebook.)

12,

Do you have a current notary guidebook? Yes[ ] No[]
(N.C. Gen. Stat. § 10A-4 requires that you purchase and keep this as a reference.)
The Notary Public Guidebook may be purchased for $12.72 (including tax, shipping and handling) from:
The Institute of Government
CB#3330 Knapp Building
UNC — Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3330
919-966-4119

CONTINUED ON BACK OF FORM




13. Do any of the following statements apply to you? Yes[ ] No[]
If yes, Indicate letter(s)

A. Conviction of a crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude.

B. Revocation, suspension, or restriction of a notarial commission or professional license by this
or any other state.

C. Engaging in “official misconduct” as that term is defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 10A-3(6).

D. Disqualification for office because of Section 8 of Article VI of the Constitution of North Carolina.

(See #6 of the eligibility requirements for details on Article VI, Section 8.)

If you answered “yes” in the above section, please provide the following:

1. A written detailed explanation of the charge(s) against you and the extent of your
involvement.

2. A copy of the court judgement for misdemeanor or felony charge(s).

3. For felony charge(s), attach a copy of your citizenship restoration.

4. Two letters of recommendation from your employer, minister, or another person,

other than a family member, that can provide us a statement as to why these charges

should not prevent you from being re-appointed as a notary.

14. | hereby certify that the above statements are true and correct and that | am aware of my duties and
responsibilities as a notary public for the state of North Carolina.

NOTARY PUBLIC Signature of applicant:

SEAL HERE (must be the same as entered into box #1)

The following is for a notary public to notarize YOUR signature:

Sworn to and subscribed before me this the day of
In the year of

NOTARY PUBLIC

COMMISSION EXPIRES

WN =

7.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL APPOINTMENT

. An applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
. An applicant must reside in this state or if nonresident, be employed in this state.
. An applicant must satisfactorily complete a course of study that is approved by the Secretary of State consisting of not less

than three hours nor more than six hours of classroom instruction provided by a community college in North Carolina, unless
the person is a licensed member of the North Carolina Bar.

. An applicant must purchase and keep as a reference a manual approved by the Secretary of State that describes the duties,

authority, and ethical responsibilities of notaries public.

. An applicant must submit an application containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact. The application form

shall be provided by the Secretary of State and be available at the Register of Deeds Office in each county. Every application
shall bear the signature of the applicant written in pen and ink, and the signature shall be acknowledged by the applicant

before a person authorized to administer oaths. (Example: Clerk of Court, Register of Deeds, or a Notary Public) The applicant
shall also obtain the recommendation of one publicly elected official in North Carolina whose recommendation shall be contained
on the application.

. Article VI, Section 8 of the Constitution of North Carolina disqualifies the following persons from holding office: any person

who has been adjudged guilty of treason or any other felony against this state of the United States, or any person who has
been adjudged guilty of a felony in another state that would also be a felony if it had been committed in this state, or any
person who has been adjudged guilty of corruption or malpractice in any office and who has not been restored to the rights
of citizenship in the manner prescribed by law.

An applicant must be able to read and write English.

PLEASE NOTE: Please allow approximately three weeks for the processing of applications.

PROCEDURES FOR TAKING OATH: The Notary Public Section will process your application and return to you a transmittal letter through the
mail. After the receipt of the transmittal letter, you will need to go to the Register of Deeds in the county in which the commission is issued to
take the oath of office. The oath must be taken within 90 days of the effective date listed on the transmittal letter. If 90 days lapse before the
oath is taken, a new initial application and $30.00 fee must be resubmitted. Notary appointments are NOT valid until the oath of office is

taken. The oath must be taken with each reappointment commission.

January 2001 NP-IA
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